Acting Course Part 1 – Hello Lovey!

A funny blog post about the first session on an acting course, from Midlife Dramas in PyjamasWhen I was 18 I wanted to do a drama degree. Parents told me to do a ‘proper’ degree first, get a job and then think about ‘having a go’ at acting. You can imagine how that panned out…

30 years later I’ve enrolled on a community acting course.

Spent entire hour and a half of first session sitting on plastic chairs in a circle – my coccyx has been complaining ever since. Had to introduce ourselves and repeat everyone’s names, via various activities, for half an hour. Half an hour!

Then we had to relax everything from our toes to the tops of our heads – including our eyeballs. Am I the only one who doesn’t have tense eyeballs? Course leader then made mistake of telling us to close our eyelids over our tense eyeballs; after three minutes I was in danger of nodding off.

Two very annoying people in the group. One has been in a few pantomimes and now thinks he’s Sir Ian McKellen. One wants to change the way we perceive comedy (either it’s funny or it’s not love), and thinks she’s a cross between Germaine Greer and Helen Mirren .

It’s going to be tedious I can tell. I’ll let you know how I get on…

One thought on “Acting Course Part 1 – Hello Lovey!

  1. Pingback: Acting Course Part 4 – Like a Puppet on a… | Midlife Dramas in Pyjamas

Leave a Reply

