For goodness sake, I’ll do it myself!

A funny blog post about a visit to the hairdresser,from Midlife Dramas in PyjamasMy current hairdresser is hell-bent on blow-drying my hair in a certain way – which is absolutely not the way I want it. So today, to show her how I’d like it done, I actually washed and blow-dried it myself before I went for my appointment – yes, you read that right. Puffed out from my head and wavy; nothing wrong with a bit of Farrah Fawcett of a morning! Plenty of volume. Remember that. It’s important.

She did the roots and trimmed it, then it was time for the blow dry. I’d told her I like volume. I’d told her it doesn’t suit me flat to my head. I’d told her flat hair makes my face look gaunt – I’d told her it makes me look old. She nodded and smiled knowingly.

Confident she knew what she was doing I settled down to read my book. 15 minutes later I looked up. CHUFFIN’ NORA!! An Afghan hound looked back at me. No, NOT a perfectly groomed, swishy, silky Afghan hound – a neglected, scrawny, old mutt with lank hair that any grungy teenager would be proud of!

Flat to my head, my face looked gaunt, I’d aged 10 years and guess what? NO VOLUME!

2 thoughts on “For goodness sake, I’ll do it myself!

  1. You have my sympathy. Most hairdressers try to make me like Brian May. It’s not a good look . (For me that is. I’m sure Brian loves it.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

