Homework time again…yay!

 

A funny poem about helping a teen with homework from Midlife Dramas in PyjamasI’ll help you love, you know I will
It’s what I always do.
We both know I’ll be writing it,
With little work from you.

You’ll tell me that you’ve made a start,
I’ll have a look – and sigh.
You’ve written date and title,
So I’ll smile and say, “Good try.”

I’ll go through plans and paragraphs,
You’ll say, “I know. I KNOW!”
“WELL DO IT THEN FOR PITY’S SAKE!
Just try, and have a go.”

I’ll leave the room to do a job,
Then pop back when you call.
I’ll find you stretched out on your bed
With legs against the wall.

“I’ve written some, look over there.”
You’ll twist your jumper round.
You’ll pull a face, and widely yawn
Then slide onto the ground.

I’ll see before me several lines;
It’s all one sentence – great!
No punctuation there at all –
You know it’s my pet hate!

“I can’t believe you’ve left this work
‘Til Sunday night AGAIN!
You drive me round the bend you know,
Pick up the bloody pen!”

I’ll talk you through and draft it out,
Consult the internet.
You’ll hand it in; I’ll sit and wait
TO SEE WHAT MARK I GET!

7 thoughts on “Homework time again…yay!

  1. I helped our 11 year old with a poem about the First World War last year. It was so fabulous I actually had tears. Unfortunately it was so scary the school kids were so traumatized that we were called into school to discuss Pippa’s mental health. I very sheepishly had to come clean. No more helping our for me 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Haha this is brilliant and a bit too close to the truth for comfort! Why do we carry on doing it? I know we should just leave it and let them get in trouble but I never can. I have double checked my punctuation in my comment!
    Thanks so much for joining us at #TweensTeensBeyond. Hope to see you next week.

    Like

  3. Oh we have all been there haven’t we and I can so feel your pain. Sometimes a bit of tough love is needed. Last time my daughter did that I stepped back, she got a detention – she has never done it again. Thanks for joining us again. #TweensTeensBeyond

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

