Please put your hands together for…

A funny blog post about a karaoke night, from Midlife Dramas in PyjamasWent out with the girls for a karaoke night last week – sing-song and a meal. Never been to one before but had always wanted to try it. Was nervous about finally doing it but thought, ‘I’m in a choir therefore I must be able to sing: I’m going to give it a go.’

Spent all day practising in the car, singing and dancing around the lounge and belting out ballads in the shower. Thought it would be good to have a few songs prepared. Didn’t want to get there and start worrying about what key the song was in, what range the song was in and whether or not there were enough long notes to show off my prowess (hahahahaha!)

Oh yes…I was going to arrive READY.

Walked into the restaurant and couldn’t believe what I was looking at. Or rather what I wasn’t looking at! No stage, no spotlights, no curtains and no space. The place was tiny.

Ate the meal wondering how things were going to pan out.

Towards end of the meal a small collection of electronic equipment was dragged out into the middle of the restaurant, and frantic setting up ensued. One of our number already had the microphone in her hand and was salivating at prospect of it being turned on; behind her an eager queue was forming.

Slight problem…the machine wasn’t working.

SERIOUSLY thought there was going to be a riot.

Quickly scanned room for feasible exits.

At last, having sent for reinforcements to fix it – obviously sight of wild-eyed, panting, slightly drunk women had unnerved the owner – the machine sprang into life.

Oh dear…how I wished it hadn’t.

The effect I’d imagined was a smokey nightclub with a sultry singer performing Fever. The effect I got was a working men’s club with a drunken, oldest swinger in town murdering, Delilah.

Hmmm.

I suddenly found several reason why I couldn’t perform sing after all: I could feel a sore throat coming on, I was absolutely crippled with nerves, I’d eaten far too much to be able to sing comfortably AND between now and reading the menu I’d lost my glasses. I know! Bizarre!

I decided the world would have to wait for my karaoke debut after all…

Have you had a go at karaoke?

Did you WOW the crowds?

 

26 thoughts on “Please put your hands together for…

    • Well Candace, half of me was extremely happy that I never actually got to sing. However, the other half of me was bitterly disappointed as I’d convinced myself I was going to be discovered and whisked off to the West End!! Hahahaha!

      Like

  1. I sing along to the radio all the time in my car, much to the chagrin of my passengers. It’s usually the significant other at the time in the car, so I’m just trying to serenade her and make her feel special. My horrible voice, however, usually causes pain and suffering. 🙂

    Like

  2. Have you thought about using Canva to make more Pinterest friendly images for your posts? That would probably make folks more inclined to pin your posts. I pinned this one anyway, but a proper image would make it even more tempting for others. Just a thought. 🙂

    Like

    • Thanks for your suggestion. I use Canva to make Pinterest versions of the post images, and then put them in the relevant board over there. Are you suggesting I use Canva for my actual blog posts? What would make it look better? Hope you don’t mind me asking but I’m open to any helpful suggestions. I’m still relatively new to all of this. Thanks 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Check out any of my posts. My main image is always one made on Canva. That’s the one I then pin on Pinterest, and hope that others will pin when they decide to share.

        Like

      • I know you are new. I saw your post on Elena’s board, so that’s why I came over to share some blog love. I think using the Canva image as the main image makes the post look better, too.

        Like

      • Thanks so much for your helpful comments Austin. I’ve looked at a few of your posts and I see what you mean. Do you use the ‘blog post’ template for your blog post picture or the ‘Pinterest’ template? When I do a FB post I now use Canva’s ‘FB’ template, which looks so much better as it doesn’t cut off half the picture! When I first started my blog I just used a photo, whereas now I at least add the post title and my URL. I’m progressing, albeit slowly lol! Thanks again 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I murdered “Devil Went Down to Georgia” once at a bachelorette party amongst friends. Hard to do since there’s not much actual SINGING in that song but I managed 🙂 I also have the misfortune of being very good friends with a chick who can actually SLAY at the karaoke thing. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve heard “Love Will sleep Us Together” in the past two decades. I’m her biggest fan and groupie and know better than to try to follow that lol! I’ll just be over here sipping my Kahlua sombrero…

    Like

  4. The only time I’ve sung karaoke was at the children’s museum with my 5 and 3 yo grandsons. And because I’m a responsible grandmother there was no alcohol involved. I am totally against childhood drinking. They were pretty good. I sucked. LOL!

    Like

Leave a Reply

